The COVID-19 pandemic has had a major effect on our lives and for many, has impacted their mental health. To help PAs look after the mental health of themselves, their colleagues and their customers, this year’s PA Conference program will feature two sessions covering this important topic.

The first of these presentations is titled ‘Getting the balance right – managing stress in pharmacy for optimum performance without burnout’ and will be presented by Pharmacists’ Support Service’s Executive Officer, Kay Dunkley.

Kay believes that managing stress in our pharmacy workplaces and in our personal lives is essential for our wellbeing and for our ability to perform well and achieve our goals. In her session, Kay will investigate some typical situations that occur in pharmacy and how as individuals and teams we can change the way we approach situations to better manage stress.

Resilience thought leader Tofe Evans is the second speaker addressing the increasingly important topic of mental health. Tofe’s presentation titled ‘Everyone has a plan until the shit hits the fan – how to build Practical Resilience’ will provide important tools to guide you mentally out of any adversarial and grim situations.

Tofe is a firm believer in pushing the boundaries of what the human body and mind are capable of and is constantly reinventing himself to advocate how anyone can rise above and be the best versions of themselves. Tofe will share with the PA Conference audience a personal journey which not only shaped his character, but literally saved his life.

Joining Kay and Tofe at this year’s conference will be Olympic speed skater Steven Bradbury OAM, 2020 PATY Award winner Ben King, Pharmacy Guild National President Trent Twomey and wound care expert Geoff Sussman.

The conference also provides a platform for The Pharmacy Guild of Australia/Maxigesic Pharmacy Assistant of the Year (PATY) Award, which is contested the day prior. PA Conference delegates will have the opportunity to meet the eight State Finalists during the event, before the National Winner is announced at the Conference Dinner on Saturday 23 October.