Media Release
29 August 2022

Eight pharmacy assistants representing each state and territory have been selected to compete for the national title of the 2022 Pharmacy Guild of Australia / Maxigesic Pharmacy Assistant of the Year Award (PATY).

After recent online workshops, where participants demonstrated their pharmacy knowledge and leadership skills, the judges selected the following pharmacy assistants to represent their state or territory in the national finals. Congratulations to all state winners!

ACT – Caitlin Smith, Lanyon Pharmacy
NT – Jessie Cheng, Hibiscus Day & Night Pharmacy
NSW – Alex Wood, Moodie’s Pharmacy
QLD – April Wheeler, Priceline Pharmacy Morayfield
SA – Paige Ross, Christie’s Compounding Terry White Chemmart
TAS – Terri Bakker, Terry White Chemmart Rosny Park
VIC – Charlene Cerros, Blooms the Chemist Casey Central
WA – Bronte Wheatcroft, Donnybrook Pharmacy

For the 2022 PATY Award there is a prize pool of over $10,000, including $5,000 cash, a customised training package and return travel to Guild events.

The Pharmacy Guild of Australia’s National President, Professor Trent Twomey congratulated the State Winners for their valuable contribution to community pharmacy in Australia.

“PATY is the premier award for pharmacy assistants in Australia. This prestigious award was created to recognise pharmacy assistants who go the extra mile to help patients and who are proactive in developing their own careers,” Professor Twomey said.

“The calibre of PATY nominees is always extremely high, and each candidate displays a strong commitment to their work and the industry. I congratulate this year’s state winners for standing out as their state’s top pharmacy assistant.”

In addition to the 2022 PATY Award, the Glucojel Super Star Award recognises outstanding customer service. Congratulations to the following Glucojel Super Star Award state winners!

ACT – Simon Tyler, Lanyon Pharmacy
NT – Yee Hui Ooi, Hibiscus Day & Night Pharmacy
NSW – Stephanie Goodisson, Sheppard Road Pharmacy
QLD – Nicole Millar, Gold Coast Super Clinic Amcal Pharmacy
SA – Sharon Worster, Terry White Chemmart Hilton
TAS – Mel Nicolle, Terry White Chemmart Latrobe
VIC – Kate Cameron, Community Care Chemist Grovedale
WA – Bianca Busby, St James Newstart Pharmacy

Major sponsors and award judges, Calvin MacKenzie from AFT Pharmaceuticals also congratulated the winners on their achievement.

“AFT Pharmaceuticals is honoured to support the 2022 PATY Award and to ensure that the industry is recognising excellence in the frontline of pharmacy.”

“On behalf of AFT Pharmaceuticals, we congratulate all eight state winners and look forward to the national finals in October,” Mr MacKenzie said.

For the first time in two years, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2022 PATY Award and Glucojel Super Star Award will be announced in person during the Conference Dinner at the Pharmacy Assistant National Conference in Brisbane on Saturday 29 October.

Early bird registration is available up to 1 September. Register to attend and celebrate with the 2022 PATY Award winners and your pharmacy assistant peers. Click HERE to register now and save $65.