





## Media Release

12 October 2020

## Pharmacy Assistant of the Year State Winners announced

The dream of representing their state in a national award which recognises outstanding pharmacy assistants has become a reality for the eight State Winners competing in this year's Pharmacy Guild of Australia/ Maxigesic Pharmacy Assistant of the Year Award (PATY).

The following pharmacy assistants have been selected to take part in the PATY National Finals, which will take place in a virtual format on 30 October:

ACT Joshua Edve – Erindale Pharmacy

**NSW** James Brown – Blaxland Day and Night Pharmacy

NT Ben King – Alice Springs Pharmacy

SA Tori McRae-Field – Direct Chemist Outlet Torrensville

Emma Smallbone - Zammitt Street Pharmacy QLD

TAS Kenya Broad – Penguin Pharmacy

VIC Cody Marshall – United Chemists Wodonga

Jaclyn Jensen - Wizard Rossmoyne WA

The State Winners were selected for their demonstration of pharmacy knowledge and skills in customer service and in leadership.

By participating in the National Finals, the State Winners will be in the running to take home over \$10,000 in prizes including cash, a training package, educational opportunities and other great rewards.

Pharmacy Guild of Australia National President, George Tambassis congratulated the State Winners for their valuable contribution to community pharmacy in Australia.

"This award recognises pharmacy assistants who go the extra mile to help our customers - which is critical to the future success of the pharmacy industry as our range of services to the public continues to grow," Mr Tambassis said.

"The calibre of PATY nominees is always extremely high, and each PATY nominee candidate displays a strong commitment to their work and this industry".

Calvin MacKenzie, General Manager of AFT Pharmaceuticals, the award's major sponsor, also congratulated the winners on their achievement.





















"AFT Pharmaceuticals is very honoured to support PATY and to ensure that the industry is recognising excellence in the frontline of pharmacy."

"I congratulate all eight State Winners for standing out as their state's top pharmacy assistants and I look forward to seeing them all at the National Finals on 30 October," Mr MacKenzie said.

As part of this year's award, AFT Pharmaceuticals and Maxigesic have developed a free education module for pharmacy assistants, which highlights their vital role in pain management.

Pharmacy assistants are encouraged to sign up at pharmacyassistants.com/education/ to access the module and receive the latest industry, conference and PATY updates. The sign-up page also features an introductory video to pharmacy assistants' role in pain management by 2018 PATY winner, Alice Vanderpol.

In addition to the main award, PATY features the Glucojel Super Star Award, which recognises outstanding customer service amongst the PATY state finalists. Congratulations to the following winners of the Glucojel Super Star Award in each state:

ACT Elise Newham – The Pharmacy on Franklin **NSW** Jacalyn Dillon - Simply Pharmacy Valentine

NT Lara Monica De Guzman – Hibiscus Day and Night Pharmacy SA Amber Greenwood – Tim Siv's Kapunda TerryWhite Chemmart

Andy Zhu - Spring Hill Priceline Pharmacy QLD TAS Melissa van Winden – West Hobart Pharmacy

WA Amanda Skipper – TerryWhite Chemmart Bluff Point

## <end>

Media Enquiries: Kristy Ellery, Marketing and Communications Manager. P: 0447 722 225











